Icicle Trophy – 2017

On Sunday 3rd December 2017 skippers arrived at Coalhouse Fort RYC for the annual Icicle Trophy on what initially was a cold day with very little if any wind. It FXT22980was good to see a few new faces at an IOM Open event including, Gavin Print; Bryan Southgate and Dennis Graham. Unfortunately Dennis had a transmitter issue causing him to have to withdraw after Race 6. There were initially 19 entrants but due to illness this was reduced to 17 skippers from 6 clubs on the day.

As the day went on the wind did increase slightly and was primarily from the NorthFXT22934 North West veering to North West and so Geoff Appleton, Race Officer for the day, set a windward/leeward course at the north end of the lake.

Unusually, Colin Goodman did not have a normal day, taking 8 wins and was closely challenged at times by Trevor Binks, Vernon Appleton and Vinnie Zammit with 2 wins; and Graham Bartholomew and Gavin Print with 1 win.

FXT22989However, at the end of the day with his greater consistency as normal Colin was the overall winner with 18 points, followed by Trevor Binks with 40 points and Vernon Appleton third with 50 points.



Pos. Skipper Sail # Club/City Hull Score
1 Colin Goodman 61 Coalhouse Fort RYC BritPop 18.0
2 Trevor Binks 72 Eastbourne BritPop 40.0
3 Vernon Appleton 36 Coalhouse Fort RYC BritPop 50.0
4 Vinnie Zammit 17 Norwich BritPop 52.0
5 Mark Dennis 19 Chelmsford RYC BritPop 62.0
6 Dave Allinson 4 Chipstead SC Fractal-2 68.0
7 Graham Bartholomew 91 Coalhouse Fort RYC MX16 77.0
8 David Hope 11 Chelmsford RYC Kantun 2 88.0
9 Barry Raven 32 Chelmsford RYC BritPop 104.0
10 Gavin Print 27 Chelmsford RYC Cheinz 121.0
11 Bryan Southgate 13 Chelmsford RYC Arrival 121.0
12 Alf Reynolds 42 Chelmsford RYC Italiko 130.0
13 Angela Mears 33 Southend MBC Shadow 155.0
14 Jim La Roche 55 Coalhouse Fort RYC BritPop 156.0
15 John Moore 37 Southend MBC Cockatoo 184.0
16 Terry Wright 66 Coalhouse Fort RYC Kantun 190.0
17 Dennis Graham 23 Coalhouse Fort RYC Wedge 198.0

P1020081Despite initially little or no wind, the day ended with a good breeze and our thanks to all participants for their good behaviour with the only ‘protest’ being for redress.

Our thanks to Malcolm Schaffer, Glenn Meekcoms and Peter Herbert for their valuable help throughout the day.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s