Coventry Trophy & EDCS 3

Sunday 23rd April saw a disappointing 11 eleven skippers arrive at Coalhouse Fort for theCoventry2 Coventry Trophy and Round 3 of the Eastern District IOM Championship Series. It was a somewhat overcast day with some sunny intervals and mostly a good breeze primarily from the south. However it did drop to nothing at times leading to an early lunch with a mirror like finish across the lake. In addition, the wind did back to the ESE at times creating issues for both Race Officer John Newton and the skippers.

Coventry6It was initially a windward/leeward course in the middle of the lake, with the start and finish lines being the same, but this proved to be a bit short and so the start line was adjusted such that the start line coincided with the leeward mark. When the wind dropped consideration was given to moving the course further to the north of the lake, but as it increased again this was discounted..

In his usual way, Colin Goodman dominated the event only failing to finish first in one race,Coventry1 due to a coming together with Graham Bartholomew and Dave Allinson. This allowed the rest of the competitors to take advantage and Angela Mears from Southend MBC to take a win, having spent the two previous races try to tune her boat.

There was some really close racing at the front with Vernon Appleton, David Hope, Graham Bartholomew and Dave Allinson all vying for the top places, although Glenn Meekcoms from Southend MBC did have a couple of Coventry3good second places. But it was Vernon’s consistency, apart from two races, which enabled him to take second place, with David Hope eventually taking third.

Some really good racing throughout the day with all issues being settled on the water and some good banter, so our thanks to all the skippers.

Pos. Skipper Sail # Club/City Hull Score
1 Colin Goodman 61 Coalhouse Fort RYC BritPop 11.0
2 Vernon Appleton 36 Coalhouse Fort RYC BritPop 34.0
3 David Hope 11 Chelmsford RYC Kantun 2 37.0
4 Graham Bartholomew 47 Coalhouse Fort RYC MX16 41.0
5 Dave Allinson 4 Chipstead SC Fractal 2 45.0
6 Glenn Meekcoms 85 Southend MBC V8 60.0
7 Rick Buxton 41 Norwich MYC Vision 70.0
8 Angela Mears 33 Southend MBC Shadow 79.0
9 George Startup 72 Chipstead SC Fractal 2 83.0
10 Alf Reynolds 42 Chelmsford RYC Italiko 95.0
11 Robert Fawbert 12 Norwich MYC Vision 113.0

Our thanks to John Lambert and Phil Hulson for their help throughout the day.

Report and results courtesy John Newton and photos by Dave Sellens



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s